Protected Area Network

With a view to conserve the rich biodiversity, wide areas of Sikkim have been included in the protected area network. There are 8 protected areas in Sikkim viz., Khangchendzonga National Park, Fambong Lho Wildlife Sanctuary, Kyongnosla Alpine Sanctuary, Barsey Rhododendron Sanctuary, Maenam Wildlife Sanctuary, Shingba Rhododendron Sanctuary, Kitam Bird Sanctuary and Pangolakha Wildlife Sanctuary covering 46.93% of the total geographical area.

IBA Site codes IBA Site Names
IN-SK-01 Barsey Rhododendron Sanctuary
IN-SK-02 Dombang Valley - Lachung - Lema - Tsungthang
IN-SK-03 Fambong Lho Wildlife Sanctuary - Himalayan Zoological Park - Ratey Chu Reserve Forest
IN-SK-04 Khangchendzonga National Park and Biosphere Reserve
IN-SK-05 Kyongnosla Alphine Sanctuary - Tsomgo - Tamze - Chola Complex
IN-SK-06 Lhonak Valley
IN-SK-07 Lowland Forests of South Sikkim
IN-SK-08 Maenam Wildlife Sanctuary - Tendong Reserve Forest
IN-SK-09 Pangolakha Wildlife Sanctuary - Zuluk - Bedang Tso - Natula Complex
IN-SK-10 Tso Lhamo Plateau - Lashar - Sebu La - Yumesamdong Complex
IN-SK-11 Yumthang-Shingba Rhododendron Wildlife Sanctuary

Preset Colors

Font Size


Latest News

View all